Annual General Meeting

Monday 8th May 2017

Date & Time: 08/05/2017 18:00

Location: Highfield Campus, University of Southampton, Building 05 Room 2011

Members present: In attendance:

President: JS
Treasurer: KL
Secretary: CD
Vice President: CF
Welfare Officer: AW
Welfare Officer: TP
Activities Officer: AL
Publicity Officer: KP
Technical Officer: TB
Ordinary Member: PE
Winchester Rep: KS

34 Voting Members of the society [names redacted under the LGBT+ Society

Constitution and Privacy Policy

Chairperson:

JS CD

Apologies:

Ordinary Member: TD

Absent without apologies:

1. Welcome from the Chairperson

JS introduces himself as chairperson and runs through the order of proceedings for the meeting.

2. Exiting committee members give short speeches about their activities during the previous year

3. Exiting Treasurer, KL, gives an update on the past year's accounts

During the 2016/17 academic year the committee decided to move the Society's banking system from Barclays to the Union Money Hub. In September 2016, the LGBT+ Society had a sum of £400.64, at the present date the society has ~£400 in its accounts, and following outgoing funds owed to exiting committee members and incoming funds from the Boat Party the society will have approximately £861 in its accounts.

4. All committee positions vacated

5. Proceedings for the election of a new committee, following this procedure:

- Candidates for each role stand at front of the room and present their election speech.

- The order of these proceedings is as follows: President, Treasurer, Secretary, Vice President, Welfare Officer (x2), Activities Officer, Publicity Officer, Technical Officer, Winchester Officer, and Ordinary Member (x2).
- Following speeches from each role the floor is opened for questions to the candidates.
- Candidates are then asked to vacate the room whilst those registered to vote cast their votes.
- All candidates run against RON (re-open nominations).
- In the case of Welfare Officer and Ordinary Member where two positions are open, voting occurs in two rounds; votes will not be carried forward from one round to the next.
- Candidates will then be welcomed back into the room and the chair will announce who has been elected.

Chairpersonship handed to CD

President

Candidates: JS, HG Elected to the role: JS

Vote breakdown: 33 votes; 27 JS; 4 HG; 2 RON

Chairpersonship handed back to JS

Secretary

Candidates: AJ, JB Elected to the role: AJ

Vote breakdown: 33 votes; 19 AJ; 13 JB; 1 RON

<u>Treasurer</u>

Candidates: SB

Elected to the role: SB

Vote breakdown: 34 votes; 28 SB; 6 RON

Vice President

Candidates: DB, HG Elected to the role: DB

Vote breakdown: 34 votes; 22 DB; 12 HG; 0 RON

Welfare Officer

Candidates: MB, AM, JB, SM First Elected to the role: JB

Vote breakdown: 29 votes; 10 MB; 10 JB; 5 SM; 4 AM; 0 RON. The LGBT+ Society Constitution defines that in event of a tie the deciding vote goes to President, however JS and MB's personal relationship is decided a conflict of interest, so a deciding vote between MB and JB is decided most

appropriate: 29 votes; 15 JB; 14 MB

Second Elected to the role: Shannon Monroe

Vote breakdown: 29 votes; 12 SM; 11 AM 11; 6 MB; 0 RON

Activities Officer

Candidates: AA, HG Elected to the role: HG

Vote breakdown: 29 votes; 20 HG; 7 AA; 2 RON

Publicity Officer

Candidates: LW

Elected to the role: LW

Vote breakdown: 28 votes; 28 LW; 0 RON

Technical Officer Candidates: SP

Elected to the role: SP

Vote breakdown: 28 votes; 26 SP; 2 RON

Winchester Officer Candidates: None

Elected to the role: None, by-election to be held in the new academic year

Vote breakdown:

Ordinary Member Candidates: MB, KL

First Elected to the role: MB

Vote breakdown: 25 votes; 12 MB; 12 KL; 1 RON. Given the tie of two candidates for two open positions any conflict of interest between the President, JS, and MB is decided a non-impacting influence on the eventual outcome of the overall vote. President exercises his deciding vote and MB is

elected.

Second Elected to the role: KL

Vote breakdown: 25 votes; 23 KL; 2 RON

6. Annual General Meeting closed by the chairperson